Uncategorized

to watch you leaving

there are two poems that say everything. for me

To watch you leaving

To watch you leaving is to know pain. To watch you leaving is to know that never again will I fit myself, warm with sleep, against your solid back. Or to hear your steady breathing. Or feel the beating of your heart.

To watch you leaving…

It’s the way I have felt for you, the way someone feels for me, the way you have felt and one day might feel again.

Poem Two

I pray I will learn the difference between holding a hand and chaining a soul,

And learn that love doesn’t mean leaning,

And company doesn’t always mean security,

And kisses aren’t contracts and presents aren’t promises,

And I begin to accept my defeats

With the grace of a woman, not the grief of a child,

And I learn to build all my roads on today,

After even sunshine burns if you get too much.

So, I plant my own garden,

And I decorate my own soul,

I won’t wait for someone to bring me flowers,

And I learn that you and I really can endure,

And you really do have worth.

And you learn,

And you learn,

With every good-bye, you learn.

Standard

Leave a Reply

